Special Issue In Memory of Robert E. Collin
Editors: Weng Cho Chew

Special Issue Information

This is a special issue in memory of Robert E. Collin, a distinguished scholar, author, and mentor in the area of electromagnetics. This special issue started at the suggestion of Professor Ioannis M. Besieris. The chief editors would like to thank all the authors for their contributions.
Robert E. Collin (October 24, 1928 - November 29, 2010) was the author or coauthor of more than 150 technical papers and five books on electromagnetic theory and applications. His classic text, Field Theory of Guided Waves, was also a volume in the series. Professor Collin had a long and distinguished academic career at Case Western Reserve University. In addition to his professional duties, he served as chairman of the Department of Electrical Engineering and as interim dean of engineering.
Professor Collin was a life fellow of the IEEE, fellow of the Electromagnetic Academy and member of the Microwave Theory and Techniques Society and the Antennas and Propagation Society (APS). He was a member of U.S. Commission B of URSI and a member of the Geophysical Society. Other honors include the Diekman Award from Case Western Reserve University for distinguished graduate teaching , the IEEE APS Distinguished Career Award (1992), the IEEE Schelkunoff Prize Paper Award (1992), the IEEE Electromagnetics Award (1998), and an IEEE Third Millennium Medal in 2000. In 1990 Professor Collin was elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

Special Issue Editors:

Weng Cho Chew
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Manuscipts Submission:

Manuscripts should be submitted online. This special issue title should be selected during the online submission process. All papers will be peer-reviewed. Accepted papers will be published online continuously (as soon as accepted) and will be listed together on the special issue website. Research articles, review articles as well as short communications are invited. Submitted manuscripts should not have been published previously, nor be under consideration for publication elsewhere (except conference proceedings papers).

Published Papers in This Special Issue:

Numerically Efficient Technique for Metamaterial Modeling (Invited Paper)
By Ravi Kumar Arya, Chiara Pelletti and Raj Mittra.
Progress In Electromagnetics Research, Vol. 140, 263-276, 2013

Dipole Radiation Near Anisotropic Low-Permittivity Media (Invited Paper)
By Mohammad Memarian and George Eleftheriades.
Progress In Electromagnetics Research, Vol. 142, 437-462, 2013

Impact of Finite Ground Plane Edge Diffractions on Radiation Patterns of Aperture Antennas (Invited Paper)
By Nafati A. Aboserwal, Constantine Balanis and Craig R. Birtcher.
Progress In Electromagnetics Research B, Vol. 55, 1-21, 2013

Circuit and Multipolar Approaches to Investigate the Balance of Powers in 2D Scattering Problems (Invited Paper)
By Inigo Liberal, Inigo Ederra, Ramon Gonzalo and Richard Ziolkowski.
Progress In Electromagnetics Research, Vol. 142, 799-823, 2013

A Wideband Frequency-Shift Keying Modulation Technique Using Transient State of a Small Antenna (Invited Paper)
By Mohsen Salehi, Majid Manteghi, Seong-Youp Suh, Soji Sajuyigbe and Harry G. Skinner.
Progress In Electromagnetics Research, Vol. 143, 421-445, 2013

Minimum q for Lossy and Lossless Electrically Small Dipole Antennas (Invited Paper)
By Arthur D. Yaghjian, Mats Gustafsson and Lars Jonsson.
Progress In Electromagnetics Research, Vol. 143, 641-673, 2013

Three-Parameter Elliptical Aperture Distributions for Sum and Difference Antenna Patterns Using Particle Swarm Optimization (Invited Paper)
By Arthur Densmore and Yahya Rahmat-Samii.
Progress In Electromagnetics Research, Vol. 143, 709-743, 2013

Differential Forms Inspired Discretization for Finite Element Analysis of Inhomogeneous Waveguides (Invited Paper)
By Qi Dai, Weng Cho Chew and Li Jun Jiang.
Progress In Electromagnetics Research, Vol. 143, 745-760, 2013

Localized Monochromatic and Pulsed Waves in Hyperbolic Metamaterials (Invited Paper)
By Ioannis Besieris and Amr M. Shaarawi.
Progress In Electromagnetics Research, Vol. 143, 761-771, 2013

End of this special issue.